A Note To My Younger Self

There’s a television programme in Australia called Home Delivery. The host takes a celebrity guest on a journey back into their past. They visit the house they grew up in, their old school and they reflect upon the life they had growing up.

The host always ends the show with this question:

“If you could say something to your twelve-year-old self – what would you say?”

It’s a heavier question than it first appears. By addressing it you’re forced to think about what you could change. What you might regret. What you feared. How you struggled.

Could you have done better?

My friend and fellow blogger, Sinéad, answered this question herself which again got me thinking.

What would I say to my younger self?

For me, it is this:

You’re doing okay.

Give yourself permission to fail and keep trying.

Your worries are smaller than they feel.

You’re more in control than you think.

What would you say?