Christmas Creative

Is it too soon to say ‘Christmas’?

No, of course it isn’t.

Last year I collected some pinecones with the intention of making wreaths for Christmas. I finally got all inspired yesterday and began making them. While this is a VERY affordable project, it’s not a quick one!

YOU WILL NEED

  • PINECONES – I sourced mine from a public park which had different varieties of pine tree. Check with your local council to see if  you need permission to collect them. Make sure not to stray onto private property.
  • EYELETS – I used wire to form my eyelets which simply had to be a loop with a stem. I already had the wire, and as the eyelets didn’t need to be pretty, I was happy to make them myself. If you don’t have the tools to make them you can buy eyelets from a hardware store.
  • PLIERS – I used a combination of regular and round-nose pliers to form the eyelets.
  • DRILL
  • GLUE GUN – Or not. PVA glue would also do the job, and probably give a stronger bond but I was allured by the 60 second drying time.
  • STRING  – I used jute twine but you could even use fine wire.
  • WREATH

You didn’t read that incorrectly, I am making a wreath by using a wreath.

Shush.

[Aside: I actually have a craft book which features a project called ‘Making a decorative chair’ which requires you to have a chair. This is different, I swear]

I found my wicker wreath at a waste recycling shop for fifty cents. I removed the tatty tinsel and decorations which covered it but you can use anything circular. You could even thread your pinecones directly onto a loop of wire but you will need LOTS of pinecones as you can’t simply arrange them at the front.

img_20161112_155042

Top left: The 1/3 completed wreath showing the base wreath. Top right: Glue-gunning the eyelets on. Below L-R: Forming the wire, drilling the pine cone, glue around the eyelet, arty shot.

METHOD:

Get lots of pinecones and make lots of eyelets.

Drill a hole into end of each pinecone. Insert eyelet. Glue, making sure the glue gets into the drill-hole.

Using the string, tie two or three pinecones together, and then tie them to the base wreath. Always add the larger bunches or bigger pinecones to the wreath first. Fill the gaps with smaller pinecones.

Any questions?


nanopoblano1Day 12. Writing every day in the month of November.


Extra note: Yes, you could simply glue-gun the pinecones onto the base circle. You could, but I’m aiming for quality *ahem* Also, as my front door gets a fair bit of sun this time of year, I’m hoping the eyelets may add a little more strength which will prevent the pinecones from simply melting off their surface. Here’s hoping.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Creative

  1. I just find it hilarious that you have to worry about it being so hot the glue on your Christmas wreath might melt. It snowed here on Thursday… *brr*

    Thanks for the tips, though. Very informative! Looking forward to a picture of the finished product. 🙂

Leave a Reply

