Define a Waste of Time

I’d love to know what you think constitutes as a waste of time.

I have this niggling worry everyday as I find myself spending more and more time caught up on the internet. I’m on social media, or I’m Wiki-hopping from one interesting link to the next. Or I’m taking too many photos of the cat so I can ostensibly capture an instant on Instagram.

I’m not necessarily saying these things are a waste of time, but I can’t claim they’re not either.

I’m not even a big social media addict. Twitter and Instagram and WordPress are my big distractions. I rarely check Facebook, and except for Instagram, I don’t have any of these as phone apps. If I duck out from work to get lunch, I’m not among the people in the queue who browse their phones.

I found myself going to my laptop this morning to look up something simple and became so distracted by the alerts and reminders and emails that I completely forgot my original purpose. Time ticked on. By the time I closed my laptop and thought about changing out of my pyjamas, I realised I’d intended to check the weather forecast.

Completely revealing my age, as a child my aunt and uncle had a Commodore 64. Which at the time, was A-MAZ-ZING. My brother and I played on this thing for hours and hours. Children don’t feel quite the same level of guilt as adults but as much then as now, it’s not that I don’t enjoy my computer time – only that I think it could be better spent with something I enjoy as much, if not more. But it’s easy, isn’t it? You get caught up and before you know it you’ve been browsing your Twitter feed for an hour.

How do you waste time? How do you willingly spend time but regret it later?


nanopoblano1

Tiny Peppers, blogging every day in November – you can find them here!

 

 


I just spent five minutes trying to find an appropriate meme for this post.

I stopped myself.

No meme for you, more time for me.

Did I make the right choice?

16 thoughts on “Define a Waste of Time

  1. laughing… I just simply decide not to do the things that don’t make me happy. If I am happy and enjoying my time and getting all my chores and life stuff done than I have no regrets. Sometimes a little adjustment is needed. πŸ™‚

  2. I think most of us, especially those in the First World, can write entire books about how all-consuming social media has been and how all-day unlimited access to the internet has made us zombies of a kind. I’m not sure how this will play out in the long run, but doesn’t seem healthy at all.

Leave a Reply

