Breaking Eggs with a Stick

In my family, this means getting busy and achieving a lot. It’s a turn of phrase I learnt from my mum. And then it occurred to me.

IT MAKES NO SENSE.

Unless by ‘achieving a lot’ they mean achieving your goal by the quickest but not necessarily the neatest way possible. Unless ‘getting busy’ is another way of saying  ‘it looks like you’re doing a lot but actually you’re just making a mess’.

So, I Googled it.

Turns out, Mum got it all wrong. It’s Australian slang implying you’re working in an ostentatious or flamboyant manner, usually well beyond the requirements of the given situation.

This makes more sense.

Except, now I’m disappointed.

I liked to imply my busy-ness with this phrase. I guess people don’t usually say this to describe their own actions.

And I’m more disappointed.

I’ve been using this phrase my entire life and no one has corrected me on it. Perhaps they were unsure of the meaning themselves so kept quiet, or they believed I used the phrase correctly by either flamboyantly and excessively achieving goals, or actually breaking eggs with a stick.

I’m  not sure.

What I do find pleasing is spending so much time talking about this in a flamboyant excessive manner.

*makes a wild flourish with arms*

nanopoblano1

6 thoughts on “Breaking Eggs with a Stick

  1. Hahahaha! It’s still a more interesting way of saying things, even if it means almost the opposite of what you mean 😂 Don’t worry, I’m sure very few people knew the real meaning of the phrase when you used it 😁

Leave a Reply

