Finding Hope

A thought has lingered for a day now.

I suspect I will not be rid of it until I write it down, but at the same time, turning these words over won’t make anything other than compost.

As I try to keep up with the wondrous blog posts coming from Nano Poblano (Ra’s version of NaBloPoMo). I read this one by Janelle Weibz.

Now, I have never heard of the series Gundam, but this bit stuck with me:

“…I realize the thing about peace is that it can’t really exist without war, in the same way that light can’t exist without darkness. We had to talk about war to even begin to understand what peace meant, what society looked like or could look like.”

I realised, it wasn’t something I wanted to hear. I started questioning everything. Is the only reason I love is because I know hate?

Now to make another television series analogy, remember Stargate  SG1? And if you remember this, perhaps you remember The Nox?

They were my vision of humanity’s future. A peace loving, kind, anti-war sort of folk. You know, when the human race is ‘older’, maybe we’ll learn from our mistakes, maybe we’ll be these things.

Janelle also said this:

“We are all human; we can’t so easily remove ourselves from our situations, from our affiliations, from our histories and biases and traumas and experiences.”

Perhaps my hope for humanity’s future, is empathy – seeing things from the perspectives of others. Having a broad view.

I don’t know.

I still believe in kindness and I hope I didn’t need to see cruelty to know it.

 


nanopoblano2015darkDay 20 of Nano Poblano! That is, Ra’s version of NaBloPoMo.

We’re posting everyday in the month of November!

When I say ‘we’ I mean these awesome folk.

13 thoughts on “Finding Hope

  1. I appreciate your honest response to my post, and I’m sorry if I left you in despair. I tried repeatedly to craft a more explicitly hopeful and positive ending, but it just felt… dishonest. It is a very challenging topic to grapple with and I am still in the midst of working through it myself. Gundam, for its part, does not typically have a simple happy ending, just as it does not have simple ideas of good and evil, but it does usually conclude with hope… and the path to that hope, to an improved version of humanity, ultimately comes through understanding the other, so in “empathy” as you say lies the solution.

    • Thank you for writing such a thought provoking post. The truth of it certainly played on my mind. Things aren’t black and white, people aren’t split into good people and Death Eaters, we can’t please everyone all of the time… all of these things. It worries me sometimes that humanity can’t seem to exist without war, that any degree of peacefulness leads to a kind of unsettled malaise. Wanting more, expecting more.

      For all of this, as you say, we are ALL human and I still have hope. 🙂

  2. I’m not sure I buy into the Rastafarian thought of balance (need hate to know love, etc.), however, I MIGHT believe that we have to at one time know the other side in order to appreciate the good…? Perhaps. Meanwhile, the reality is what is; so whether or not evil is necessary to know the good doesn’t really matter to me. The fact is, there is evil and there is good. I’m ready for more good and whole lot less evil. I’m cheering for empathy and locking my door at night. 🙂 Ever the optimistic realist.

    Great post to make me think! ❤
    Peace, C

    • To say we need hate to know love, and this to know that. Has an scary element of truth to it, but it is certainly not the whole picture. I’m hoping for empathy too. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. 🙂

  3. It would be nice. We can only hope that we will evolve into something greater than what we see now. I try every day to be that little bit better person and maybe just maybe somehow it will spread. 🙂

    • You rarely hear about good news stories and shock and horror make the others easier to remember. I want to believe there is more ‘nice’ in this world that we realise.
      Here’s hoping. 🙂

  4. I share the hope… If as we have evolved as humans a more cooperative way of being emerges rather than the dichotomous competition…I hope for that because with that, we have peace and lots of shades of gray instead of the duality of black/white, peace/war.

Leave a Reply

