Question Time

I’ve been slow to answer these awesome questions but better late than never, right? These questions came from the wonderful Sinéad O’Hart.

If you could be any ANIMAL from a piece of fiction (i.e. book, play, TV show, movie), which would you be and why?

I assume, as we’re talking fiction, I can chose a fictional animal? Yes? Yes. I pick Fraggle. who wouldn’t want to be a Fraggle!

What is your favourite letter of the alphabet, and why? (Bonus points for not sticking to boring old English for this one!)

Although I’m fond of any letter with a glyph and the opportunity to say ‘umlaut’, I’m skipping bonus points and going for ‘q’, because I love writing it.

If you had to pick one book to define your life, what would it be?

I think I am yet to read such a book.

What sound do you hate the most?

Anything loud and shrill will have me reeling. The sound of people dragging their feet as they walk and the sound of someone chewing gum puts my teeth on edge.

What is your favourite place in your house, and why?

This is so unbelievably hard to answer. I love the living room, in which my husband built me a modest library.

What’s the one thing you’d do to bring about happiness on earth?

I don’t believe that is in my power! Kindness, respect and treating others how I like to be treated myself is a philosophy that I hope brings happiness to those around me.

If you had a choice between going to the bottom of the ocean or into outer space, which would you choose and why? (You have to pick one. No cheatsies).

I’m not good with places you can’t breathe without assistance, so neither are high on my list of travel destinations. If I had to choose, I’d take the bottom of the ocean, (I’d have the equipment that’d allow me to see and breathe, wouldn’t I?) I think we are too quick to explore the universe when there is so much of our planet we are yet to understand.

Name a movie you love that you think isn’t appreciated enough by the world in general, and explain why you love it.

I’m going to name two.

Dave. Yes, it’s a bit patriotic but it also has a big heart and although it would fall under the category of ‘romantic comedy’ and never win an academy award, it remains one of my favourite movies.

Hercules Returns. This one is Australian and not well known. It’s another comedy which has gained a bit of an undergroud cult status. While it’s perhaps not one of my top-top favourite movies, it’s a good one and if you ever get the opportunity, give it a viewing.

If there was a way to find out the day you were going to die, would you do it? Why?

The word ‘spoilers’ comes to mind. This knowledge could be both liberating and suffocating. For my personality type, I think I am better off not knowing.

If I said the word ‘kjevtiske’ to you, what would you think it meant and why?

It’s a Russian brooch worn at the waist. Why? Not sure, it’s essentially a game of word association with invented words. In my ignorance of the Russian language, the word sounded Russian but I’m not sure what made the word particularly brooch-like.

 

One thought on “Question Time

  1. Awesome answers! Particularly ‘kjevtiske’ – I’m glad to know what it means, finally. 🙂 And yes, of course for the space/ocean trips you’d have all the necessary equipment to ensure survival. I’d answer that question exactly how you did, actually. But is that a surprise? Can I get a ‘hell naw’ all up in here?

    Thank you for taking part. I loved learning a little more about you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

