21 Things I Irrationally Hate

Blog writing and writing generally are floundering at the moment. I have several half-written posts in drafts that may or may not ever be read, so to keep things moving along, I’m stealing this post-idea from Rarasaur. (Thanks, Rara)

21 Things I Irrationally Hate Dislike

‘Hate’ is a punchier title but ‘Dislike’ is a more accurate given the lameless of these answers. I tried to limit myself to things that I felt were particularly irrational, petty or unusual.

  1. When someone casually picks up my brand new magazine/book and I haven’t read it yet.
  2. The texture of dried fruit
  3. Artificial lemon and lime smells and flavours
  4. People touching my hair
  5. Crapostrophes (Apostrophe crimes – Yay, I invented a word!)
  6. Chewing gum
  7. The notion of ‘celebrity’
  8. Country music
  9. Feet
  10. That moment between being wet and getting dry
  11. That moment between pyjamas and clothes
  12. Air blowing in my face
  13. Advertising
  14. Excessive use of exclamation marks!!!!!!
  15. Reality TV shows
  16. Not being able to eat an ice cream backwards (cone first)
  17. Turning wet jeans inside-out
  18. Putting my hand into a bag of crisps
  19. Sitting on a seat warmed by a stranger
  20. Sports commentary
  21. Xs use of abbr in text w/out character limitations. Not Gr8

So there you have it. Anything you relate to?

10 thoughts on “21 Things I Irrationally Hate

  1. The moment between so many things can be awful in the same way as hands in a bag of crisps. Why would you ever need to turn wet jeans inside out? Also, I think I’m a repeat creator of crapostrophes…. but if you see one in a post, just tell me and I’ll fix it straight away. Plus, I’ll do community service of some sort… run around and virtually hug other bloggers? πŸ™‚

    Also, air blowing in my face is the worst. I can’t believe I forgot it on my list! πŸ˜€

    • I don’t recall ever seeing a crapostrophe in your posts, believe me, I’d be the first to let you know. But then, if it creates virtual hugging and community service, crapostrophes just got better πŸ˜€

      Our family turn jeans inside out so they dry faster, it frees up the pockets. I usually turn the jeans out before I put them to wash, but then sometimes you forget πŸ˜› (Maybe this is unique to my family?)

      • We turn jeans inside out for washing, and then right side out for drying. I’ve never been sure why, only that I’ve been trained this way for so long, that it feels uncomfortable not to do it. But I also strongly dislike dealing with wet jeans…

      • Interesting! I think too, inside out for washing better conceals the zipper so it is less likely to snag other clothes, (sounds possible, am I making this up? πŸ™‚ ). Our family are definitely inside out for drying though, which I’m more grateful for, now knowing there are those who suffer this *everytime* jeans are in the wash πŸ˜€

  2. I totally hear you re. crapostrophes (which is an *excellent* word, by the way) – if I could go back in time and bop the first person who ever wrote the so-called word “potatoe’s” on the head, I would. Other stuff I relate to on your list include the texture of dried fruit (but I’m not mad about the texture of ordinary fruit, either), and the notion of ‘celebrity.’ I laughed at numbers 10 and 11, because they’re so perfectly, wonderfully absurd – and I know exactly what you mean. πŸ™‚ Great list! I will have to put together one of my own, I think.

    • What? Who writes ‘potatoe’s’? Don’t distress me. Down with that sort of thing πŸ˜‰

      Obviously, some of these aren’t completely unrelatable πŸ˜€ I mean, thinking about it, who *does* like that moment between pyjamas and clothes? Funny how the moment between clothes and pyjamas isn’t quite so painful. *races for all the pyjamas*

      • Oh, God – Ireland is full of potatoe’s. And banana’s. And sandwiche’s. Sometimes sandwhiche’s. Once, even sandwitch’s. If I’d only had a camera, that day…

        *develops painful need to get into pyjamas* πŸ˜‰

    • ‘My preeecciooouuus….’

      I understand completely. I particularly hate it with magazines because people are more casual with them and consider them more public property. I have to tell myself to relax while someone thumbs the pages, bending them back on themselves to point things out to me. I too have resorted to hiding them. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

