Take Five

Enter saxophone solo…

I’m joining in the fun and creating a 5 x 5 post, first seen here, second seen here and third seen here (Benzeknees actually started all these shenanigans!). I’m telling you, this kind of thing is contagious.

Five Things I am Passionate About (sorry, a bit of repetition here):

  1. Education – children are our future and ignorance brings fear.
  2. Equality – for everyone – you, you and you!
  3. Kindness – treat others as you like to be treated.
  4. Environment – reuse, repurpose, recycle.
  5. Animal welfare – Temple Grandin style with emphasis on positive reinforcement training.

Five Things I Would Like to Do Before I Die While I’m Still Alive:

  1. Write a book.
  2. Conquer my fear of failure.
  3. Return to England and Ireland.
  4. Get a dog.
  5. Read more.

Five Things I Say A Lot:

  1. ‘Naaaaaaw!’ I get cuted-out quite easily.
  2. ‘Well hello!’ My ‘cute’ greeting – eg. A dog has just sniffed my knees.
  3. ‘Sorry’ I apologise excessively
  4. ‘He-he’ combined with a goofy grin and possibly happy-hands when I’m really excited about something. It’s hard to explain as it also has its own cartoon-esque accent.
  5. ‘Actually’, ‘Really’, ‘Very’ – I ‘always’ over-emphasise everything.

Five Books or Magazines I Have Read Lately:

  1. Blogs (Too many, too varied and full of awesomeness).
  2. Australian Country Style (magazine).
  3. Dog’s Life Magazine (all I need now is a dog).
  4. ‘Stardust’ by Neil Gaiman.
  5. ‘Art Deco: The Golden Age of Graphic Art and Illustration’ by Michael Ormiston & Rosalind Ormiston (non-fiction).

Five Favourite Movies (In no particular order – and believe me – I have more!):

  1. Dave – A story about a lookalike American president. It’s idealistic and charming and a romantic comedy of sorts.
  2. Lars and the Real Girl – A man falls in love with a life-sized blow-up doll – do NOT let this synopsis put you off.
  3. Once – A charming Irish, modern day musical and love story.
  4. The Emporer’s New Groove – Yes, it’s my favourite Disney – I quote this daily.
  5. Good Will Hunting – A story about a troubled young genius searching for direction.

There you have it. Are you enlightened?

4 thoughts on “Take Five

  1. Oh, I love Lars and the Real Girl!! I so have to re-do my favourite movies. Too many amazing films to squeeze into one eternal ‘top 5’! Thanks for this, Kate. I love all your answers. 🙂

    • The films were the hardest – too many to love. I also struggled with the ‘five things to do before I die’ question – I really don’t have big visions for the future! 😀

Leave a Reply

