Orange Delight

Rara is sharing love and promoting her husband’s book with these creative questions. Find her answers here. Go on. Take a look.

1. In the book, Orange Buffalo by Grayson Queen, the orange buffalo is a legend. Tracking a regular brown buffalo is a feat of skill. A rare white buffalo thus represents the nearly impossible hunt for something, whereas an orange buffalo represents the search for something that simply doesn’t exist. Have you ever searched for an orange buffalo– a truly false or impossible dream?

I’ve never been good with dreams, least of all impossible ones – too much of a sceptic.

In school, I fleetingly toyed with the idea of becoming an actress. I loved acting at school and participated in most drama productions. This perhaps is my orange buffalo – I knew it would never, ever be realised because it contradicted so many other things important to me – my need for stability and privacy.

2. What’s the greatest lesson you’ve learned from a break-up?

Time is extraordinarily precious. Be honest with each other, even if it hurts. To do anything else is a waste of each other’s time.

3. Do you remember what you wanted to be when you grew up? Did you get there? If not, what happened?

I didn’t have an exact sense of what I ‘wanted to be’. More abstractly, I wanted to be happy and secure and I can tick those things off with a flourish – I’ve been very fortunate. In terms of occupation, I wanted to work with animals or be a teacher and I have done both of these things, but perhaps taken an indirect path.

4. Is there something in your past you’d like to do over? How do you think it would change your life if you had the opportunity to do so?

This is dangerous territory, fast heading for that word ‘regret’. Altering your past might bring different awesomeness, but what if it changes or removes the awesome things you already have? I think if I were to go back, I would alter little things that perhaps wouldn’t alter the course of my life but may have brought sunshine to someone else’s. Like that time I gave a little girl at the market five cents for a box. She asked for five cents and I gave her five cents – five cents – sometimes I’m far too literal and quite frankly, that was thoughtless and mean.

Then there was that glorious sunny day when I felt on top of the world. It was my day off, and I was walking through town after just treating myself to a small bunch of flowers for the house. I rounded the corner and I saw a well dressed middle-aged man sat on a bench rubbing the back of a woman who laid across him. She was sobbing. Hopeless, shaking sobs. I felt embarrassed that myself and that entire bustling street had caught them in this private and heart-wrenching moment of their lives. I wish I had stopped. I wish I asked them if they were okay. I wish I’d given them my flowers.

5. In the novel there’s a repeating series of lines, referring to society’s predictions for the main character– the good and bad.

“What a nice boy, a good boy, so much potential. He’s going to grow up to be president, a novelist, a hypocrite, a sellout.”

Write your own.

What a sweet girl, a reliable girl, so much potential. She’s going to grow up to be an actress, an ambassador, a recluse, an alcoholic.

10 thoughts on “Orange Delight

  1. Pingback: My Orange Report | rarasaur

  2. Time is incredibly precious– that’s such an important one.

    I think the girl who asked for 5 cents was probably incredibly happy to get all 5 cents, and I like to think that the man told the crying woman that things were going to be okay because after all– people don’t just walk around with happy flowers in a world that is too broken for happy.

    I loved your answers and the glimpse into you, and all the small things you notice about yourself and the world. 🙂

    • Very kind of you to defend my choices! 🙂 How happy would she be to get two dollars! As to the latter case, I don’t know how I would have been received, I don’t know if I was needed. The point is, I guess, I never stopped to find out.

      I really enjoyed the questions. Thanks, Rara. 😀

  3. I think you should turn the situation with the crying woman and the flowers into a story. That way, it can end whatever way you like. You might surprise yourself by finding that it ends the same way in your reimagined version as it did in reality.

    Wonderful post, and a lovely peep into your marvellous brain. Thank you for sharing it! xx

    (Oh, and I hope Rara’s husband’s book is a bestseller!)

    • Writing is better than being an actress – you get to be *all* the characters in the privacy of your own home. 🙂

      The situation of the crying woman with the flowers has gone around in my head for many years. A strangely vivid and moving moment considering I was an outsider looking in. And you’re right, it may have panned out that way – I may have walked away with my flowers. I was unlikely to help them in any meaningful way but in hindsight, it wasn’t really flowers I wanted to give them – it was hope.

      I fear opening up my brain for people, thank you for peeping and thinking it marvellous! xxx

    • Acting must be a common dream, yes? I wonder though, if the opportunity *had* arisen, and Peter Jackson rang me and said, ‘Would you be in my film?’ – I’d seriously reconsider the privacy issue! 🙂

  4. Pingback: If You Blog It, They Will Come | Posting Tuesdays. I am Grayson.

  5. Pingback: Agent Orange | kissmeoutofdesire

Leave a Reply

