Blogiversary

I’ve been blogging for a whole year.

I’m amazed how quickly that time has gone. I’ve averaged a little over a blog a week which is more than I thought I’d manage. And I think I’m writing faster than I did a year ago – not much mind, but any progress will do.

Well done me.

*scratches out all things not achieved on ‘to-do’ list*

The big question is though – what do I write for my blogiversary?

Well, there’s one particular blog post I’ve delayed because it is so personal to me. Undoubtedly mundane, but entirely personal – Will Wally Wonder. Why did I call my blog Will Wally Wonder?

Walle

Wall-e is a bit of a wally…

I’ll answer this with another few questions. Do you have family words? Words invented in your family that only they would understand? Or words, not invented as such, that have gone on to mean something beyond their regular meaning?

That’s where ‘wally’ comes from. I am, according to my family’s own definition, a wally. So ‘Will Wally Wonder’, is an entirely accurate title. I am a wally. I wonder, think, and over-think, and I write so slowly it’s a wonder I write at all! I also liked the alliteration of it.

I guess the next question is – what does ‘wally’ mean to my family?

It’s a hard thing to describe and almost impossible to explain because by normal definition it does have connotations of idiocy (which is possibly also true).

My family would say wallyism is the philosophy of my life. It’s finding objects in cloud formations, it’s being ‘cuted-out’ by bunny rabbits, anthropomorphising animals, it’s enthusiasm over the seemingly mundane (like when the windscreen wipers move in time to music playing in the car). If I happen to make a wallyish remark my family will often follow it with the resigned phrase, ‘what a wally’.

There  is a bit of wally in us all.

Chances are, if I follow your blog, I see a bit of wally in you.

8 thoughts on “Blogiversary

  1. I’m a *total* wally. And, I’m proud to be wallying along beside you!
    I have always wondered why you named your blog ‘Will Wally Wonder,’ and I’m delighted to have this explanation.
    And – also – HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY! Wow. What a year. I’m so glad we found each other. *sobs of gratitude* 😀
    Congratulations on a wonderful year’s blogging. May there be many more.
    XXX

    • Thanks! 😀

      Yay! You are a total wally, and I’ve known it for ages – wallys unite!

      I feel like I’m forever thanking you for your support, but you know, thanks and stuff.

      *wanders off to remove something from my eye* 😉 *hugs*

    • Rawwwr, thanks! 😉

      Wally is used with such endearment in my family I feel quite emotional sharing it and possibly a little protective. Happy to share it with fellow wallys though. 😀

  2. Yay for blogiversary! You should get a cupcake for making it to a year (and continuing to post, instead of making a few posts and then dropping it!) And I have to say, I’m a total wally, as well. My husband regularly enables my wally-ness, with cute little kitten pictures and the like. *hugs!*

    • It’s a surprise.Quiting is usually more my style given the number of half done craft projects I have hidden in the cupboard. So there must be *something* in this whole blogging thing!

      Wallys are drawn to other wallys – it’s official. 🙂

  3. Pingback: It’s All About Me | Will Wally Wonder

Leave a Reply

