Liebster Award

An award? For me?

Naaw, Thanks!

*Giggles sheepishly* *Flushes bright pink*

I’ve been nominated for an award by Ashley at Blue Ridge Vintage – go visit her – you are in the company of an antiquarian!

The award is this:

liebster

Word on the web (and within translation dictionaries, but I like saying ‘word on the web’) – ‘Liebster’ means ‘favourite’ in German. I feel quite touched that my blog is among Ashley’s favourites.

Ashley asked me the following questions:
1.  If you could collect one thing, what would it be?  (I collect old books, as an example.)
One thing? Really? You force me to narrow it down to just one?

Books for me too, are high on my list of things I love collecting, but if uninhibited by money and space – pianos, I would love to collect pianos and other musical instruments – not new ones but those old and loved.

2. If you could go back to any time period and relive your life there, what years would you choose?
Tricky question, as I am quite fond of modern day conveniences  *hugs computer* and medicine.

My first thought is the 1920s, for the fashion and the architecture *hops into the TARDIS*. Perhaps also the early nineteenth century because I enjoy period dramas from this era (which probably misrepresents nineteenth century reality entirely – so maybe not?).

3. What’s your favourite Disney movie, and why?
They are all favourites. Ok*. ‘WALL-E’ because it’s a charming story and I see a bit of me in Wall-E’s charcter, namely his collecting, his methodical approach to work and his love of the little things.  For classic Disney, it’s been a while since I’ve seen them, but the one that sticks in my mind most is ‘Fantastia’ – it cemented my love of classical music.

*I Reserve the right to change my mind at any time.

4. What’s at the very top of your bucket list at the moment?
Write a novel. Any one will do, good or awful. I just want to start one and finish it.

5. If you could live anywhere in the world, nothing to hold you back, where would you live?
Right where I am. Is that weird? Although, I’ve barely travelled so how would I know what I’m missing?  When we travelled to the UK and Ireland, I discovered many places where I’d happily live. I do fancy a year in a part of the world that sees a snowy winter and a white Christmas. And while this isn’t really the question you’re asking, I’d love to live in a converted lighthouse or church or windmill. Something cosy and unconventional.

6. Favourite place you’ve visited?
People asked me this when I came back from my holiday, and I couldn’t answer it then either. There were so many places I loved and hope to return to. No favourites, just one amazing experience.  And I know you say ‘visited’ but home is my favourite place too.

Sorry, this is one of those frustrating noncommittal answers that says everything and nothing.

7. Favourite old/antique item in your house/parents house? Why is it your favourite?
Interesting question. The harder I thought about the more ostensibly mundane the objects became. Like photographs, and a 1930s sign advertising my great grandfather’s business and a bible gifted to my great grandmother from her mother. Stuff that only means something to me.

8. Who’s your favourite author, and if it’s different, what’s your favourite book?
I’m not well read, but at the moment my favourite author is J.K. Rowling. She will hold the title until the day I find another author who makes me want to read instead of sleep. My favourite book however probably remains to be ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee.

And so concludes Part 1. of my award. With all the Christmas excitement, I’ve struggled to find the time to post this up, so I’ll post my nominees and questions in the New Year when we all have a little more time.

Thank you again, Ashley. Watch this space.

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award – Part 2 | Will Wally Wonder

Leave a Reply

