Reminiscing: Ireland

Final post from my photographic blog series. For your information – one week in Ireland is NOT long enough. *throws arms in air* Now I’ll have to go back!

1055 Trinity College Library 08

The breathtaking Trinity College Library. I loved this so much I pinned it up on Pinterest a year before I knew I would see it in person.

1088 Powerscourt Gardens 14

The gorgeous setting of Powerscourt Estate.

1121 Glendalough 10

The wonder and mystery of Glendalough, Co. Wicklow.

1125 Glendalough 04

Monastic site at Glendalough. The lower ‘window’ is actually the front door. Monks apparently used a rope ladder enabling them to pull it inside for security.

1142 Sally Gap 03

Partial panorama on the road over Sally Gap. Co.Wicklow.

1184 Rock of Cashel 21

The Rock of Cashel complete with scaffolding. They are currently trying to preserve the structure and the ancient Celtic art within.

1223 Drive to Killarney 11a

Beautiful scenery on the Ring of Kerry road, en route to Killarney, Co. Kerry.

1241 Blarney Castle 02

Looking up to the heights of Blarney Castle

1250 Blarney Castle 12

Looking down from the heights of Blarney Castle. Gave the stone-kiss a miss.

1271 Youghal 07

Really enjoyed this wander through this amazing cemetery at Youghal, Co. Cork. Especially as at the time, I was in the middle of reading ‘The Graveyard Book’ by Neil Gaiman.

1282 Enniscorthy Streets 02

Enniscorthy Castle and a roadwork sign demonstrating a little known dance move called ‘The Shovel’.

1287 Enniscorthy Castle 05

Stowaway taking in the history at Enniscorthy Castle

1306 Hook Lighthouse 11

The shadow of Hook Lighthouse on a glorious day at Hook Peninsula, Co. Wexford.

Normal blog posts may now resume.

9 thoughts on “Reminiscing: Ireland

    • Thanks, Rara! I only took about five photos of Stowaway on my travels. While my husband tolerates my lunacy very well, I’m aware he gets a bit embarrassed when I do things like stage and take photographs of a toy mouse in public. πŸ˜€

      • Now I KNOW we are kindred spirits (probably sisters separated at birth or some such) … my family used to hid a toy mouse (it really looked real) to scare one another all throughout my childhood. My dad even slipped it into my hand as he walked me down the aisle to give me away! It’s a kind of craziness few can tolerate, but I adore.

      • I love mice! particularly the little field mice that are small and brown with big ears. Stowaway was a great travel companion, I reckon he’ll travel with me on my next holiday to add a little craziness to the adventure! πŸ˜€

      • *sigh* It’s always those decisions one makes in a hurry that one lives to regret, isn’t it? Personally, I’m sorry we ever sacrificed the Rolls, but one has to make cuts where one can… πŸ™‚

        *puts another cent in the ‘Saving for the trip to Australia’ fund*

Leave a Reply

