Shine On

Thank you to SJO’Hart for the Shine On award.  Thank you, really.  Such a lovely surprise.shineonaward

As per the rules, here is the badge…

And here are my answers to your questions:

What is your favourite word?
‘Onomatopoeia’, for sound and appearance. I’ll sneak in ‘harlequin’ too for its etymology. There are others. Is it obvious I’ve thought about this before?

What did you want to be when you were little?
A teacher or veterinarian. I cannot remember which one came first. I wrote from an early age, but I have never believed I could be a writer.

Are you, or have you ever been, able to do a full handstand?
Yes. I’m not able to hold the position long though! I can do a cartwheel too, but only if I lead with my left hand.

If you could be any ‘baddie’ from history or literature, who would you be and why?
I really struggled with this question. Is there such a character – real or fictional – who is morally abhorrent to you but also possesses a plus side good enough to outweigh it? Then they wouldn’t be a ‘baddie’, right? The best I can do is Lady MacBeth, for her determination and ambition.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve eaten?
A fly. Not intentionally *shudders*

If you won the lottery what’s the first thing you’d buy?
For myself? A grand piano. Or maybe employ a gardener – I’d love a beautiful garden but my thumbs are gangrene.

Do you have any weird favourite ‘things’, like favourite shoelaces, favourite spoon, etc?
This a complicated question to ask a collector who has many favourite weird things. I have a piece of brick salvaged from some old kilns that are now demolished. A tattered and very ordinary one dollar coin my grandfather gave me towards my first car – got the car, kept the coin. And then there are my feathers… Without the stories attached to these objects they are just a piece of brick, a coin and a few feathers.

Have you ever been to a ballet – or, better yet, have you ever danced in a ballet?
I have never seen a ballet live, or danced in one. I’ve pretended to, does that count?

If you could own anything that you’ve read about in a book (like your own personal dragon, or The One Ring), what would it be?
A Time Turner would be a major temptation on so many levels. I’d probably be forced to have it de-activated (unmagicified?) so then I’d keep it as a beautiful object.

Happiness is – ?
Contentment. And finding joy in little things.

 

I’ve only been blogging for a little over a month and I would like to nominate several people but they have either already been nominated or I’m aware they don’t have the time. If you stumbled upon this and just fancy answering my questions, please, be my guest!

What is your favourite scent/smell (excluding branded perfumes)?

If you could invite anyone (real or fictional, past or present) to dinner, who would it be and why?

Name a book you never finished reading.

What is your favourite colour and has it always been the same?

Do you collect anything?

Name three things you can see from where you are sitting.

Would space exploration interest you if the opportunity arose?

What is your favourite kitchen appliance?

Name up to five films you have loved.

What is your favourite saying?

4 thoughts on “Shine On

  1. Pingback: My first award :) | Ania's Blog :-)

Leave a Reply

